Right above those permissions, there's "This application will be able to:" This means that you will be able to do these things from within our application. We don' change anything about your social profiles, accounts or page

The language used in Facebook, Twitter, etc. account authorization pages is set by the social networks and cannot be modified by us. It definitely can be a bit confusing and even a little ominous.

RiteKit doesn't update profiles, send out anything that you do not set to go out yourself or see who you follow or who follows you. However, Twitter, for example, provides just 3 API permission levels:

  • Read
  • Read, Write
  • Read, Write, and Direct Messages

RiteKit requires the “Read, Write” permission level in order to publish your Tweets to Twitter, as this is considered a “Write” operation. Unfortunately, the “Read, Write” permission level includes all other “Write” operations, including updating your profile and following/unfollowing people, which can, indeed look ominous.

So although our apps never update your profile, nor do they follow new people on your behalf, those permission levels are displayed because they fall under the "Read, Write" permission group that Twitter provides to Third Party Applications like those in the RiteKit Suite.

I know that was probably a lot of information but I hope that it helps. 

If you have any additional questions as you get started with RiteKit, our support team is glad to help and aims to be pretty quick about it, too!

Did this answer your question?